Living off Inheritance

John CurryJohn Curry Posts: 6Member
edited September 2010 in Desktop
Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out in the financial services industry. My Income is variable, and so far its nothing, but that should be changing within the next couple months. Luckily, I have around $9,000 to live off while I get my business up and running. my expenses are around $1,000 a month, (yikes). so I am using YNAB and my available income to budget is around $8,000. where should I put that $8,000 while I'm living off it but I'm only pulling it out every month to pretend its income? Eventually the income I make off my career will replace it, but for now its my emergency fund and I'm actually using my emergency fund at the moment. any tips?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• lindylindy Posts: 102Member
    Hi John,

Is the $1000 that you subtracted from the $9000 targeted for September's expenses? If so, you could enter $1000 now (in August) in the category "Available next month" (meaning it will be available in September). Then, you could enter the remaining $8000 with the date of September 1 in the category "Available next month" (meaning it will be available in October). That way, you don't have to budget the remaining $8000 at all, since it won't show up as available for budgeting until October.

You would distribute September's $1000 in the appropriate categories of your expenses and enter your transactions as you spend the money.

In October, you'll have $8000 available to budget. At that time, you would budget the whole $8000 - $1000 as you did for September and the remaining $7000 to your Emergency Fund category (or Savings or Buffer, whatever you want to call it).