All Your Worth - Elizabeth Warren

DevastatDevastat Posts: 35Member
edited January 2012 in Personal Finance
Has anyone read this? I am a total newbie in budgeting, just started using YNAB (my first budget begins on 1st of May) and recently luckily also stumbled onto this book and started reading it few days ago. I think it is an amazing complement to the YNAB software.

Written by a Hardward Law Professor, it is very well written for people who are not very educated in finances. The principles in the book really help me in creating my monthly budgets. I think that the life balance of '50% of what you need, 30% of what you want and 20% savings' seems like a really good principle and you can see how your financial balance is when looking at your budget from this perspective.

Haven't gone thru it all yet, but would already absolutely recommend anyone to read this book!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• maryeamaryea Posts: 587Member
    I think I've read that one..probably still have it around here...thanks for the reminder. Yes, it's a good book. When I read your post I decided to look at my budget percentages as they were about that but we have gotten a little off due to some obligations we have taken on that we shouldn't have. We are saving about 25% though (it varies each month), but our wants are only 11% so I think our commitments/have to haves have gotten too high. Need to see if I can get out of any of them before long. I'd like to spend more for wants! :D
  • DevastatDevastat Posts: 35Member
    Checked my life balance for my first ever starting budget (starting tomorrow 1st of May) and it was Must have 47% - Wants 28% - Savings 24,8%, so close enough to the 50-30-20 that the book is suggesting to have, so I am quite happy!
  • Frank GrimesFrank Grimes Posts: 1Member
    Hi,