Keeping list of money owed me/I owe in YNAB

edanmedanm Posts: 4Member
edited July 2012 in Desktop
Hi,

I'm very new to YNAB, and there's one big thing I'd like to understand if I can do with it before I am fully commited.
I'd like to track the money other people owe me, and money I owe them.

For example, I have certain expenses which I need to get reimbursed for my company.
But I also sometimes owe people money, i.e. they paid for a movie ticket for me, and I now owe them 10 dollars.
Sometimes other people owe me money, i.e. I paid them money for a movie ticket.

This happens quite regularly with some people for me, and I'd like to use YNAB to track these exchanges.
I'm not sure how I can use YNAB to track these things.

The solution should be something which:
1. Lets me see at a glance how much money I owe someone, and for what.
2. How much money they owe me.
3. If I understood YNAB correctly, these shouldn't be affecting the budget until actual money changes hands. For example, if I pay for someone's movie, I did actually lose money from my accounts (and my balance/budget? should reflect this). But if someone theoretically owes me $50, this isn't money in my hand yet.
4. Often, I repay money someone owes me with other purchases, so this should also be handled.

So, how do I handle all of these transactions in YNAB?

Thanks for any help you can give me!
Edan
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• los lobos marinoslos lobos marinos Posts: 567Member, Beta Tester
    A couple of ideas:

You could create a budget master category called something "borrowing and lending".
    Each sub-category could be the name of someone.
    Money out = outflow transaction categorized with the persons' name
    Money in = inflow transaction with the persons' name.

If there's like a ton of people that would make the category too big.
    Then you could just have two sub-categories (loan out and loan in).