Cost cutting and smartphones

m8cb0ym8cb0y Posts: 77Member, Beta Tester
edited December 2012 in Success Stories
Ok, so like most folks, I've been using YNAB for a bit (1+ years now) and it has changed the way I am viewing spending and life choices. We have found ways to refinance both auto loans, our mortgage, paid one of our two credit cards off in full and are now using it as a cash back card, and even traded down our 1 year old purchased new outback for an older truck. In every case, our financial situation has improved. Except for the snowblower we recently purchased on credit (back saver, well worth the cost), we have incurred no new debt in the year we've been on YNAB (not counting refinances, since they were improvements).

Now, I have re-evaluated every bill we have and have come to the conclusion that the expensive smartphone plan has got to go. We pay $137/month on AT&T with two smartphones (have some grandfathering going on).

However, I think I have found a solution and wanted to share.

There is a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) of Sprint's that works like no other I have seen. They basically charge you for a bucket of usage. So if you use less than 100 minutes of voice, you get charged $3. If you go past 100 minutes, you are charged for the next higher bracket. If you don't use your mobile phone at all during the billing period, you are only charged the line fee ($6).

It is basically budgeting for mobile phones. The only downsides are phones are unsubsidized, no iPhone, and you are on Sprint. Upsides: charged only for what bucket you use, no contract, save immediately (heavy users don't though), roam for free on Verizon (text/talk, no data roaming) and can bring some of your own phones.