New YNAB user questions

mysticknight232mysticknight232 Posts: 7Member

Hello, I'm new to the YNAB software having just participated in my first webinar last night.  I have used a budget spreadsheet for years, but have not accomplished the kind of financial freedom I feel that my wife and I should have given our income.  I have not set up my YNAB budget yet as I'm trying to understand a couple of concepts before I dive in.  Also, I am still using the trail software, but fully expect to purchase the product when my trial period ends. 

1. I am currently keeping checkbooks for multiple accounts at two different financial institutions including two DDAs, one SAV and one HSA account.  Upon initial set up, should I enter all accounts into my budget keeping each balance seperate or should I combine everything into one account to keep the tracking more simplified?  Is it personal preference?  As a follow up, if i create multiple accounts to match each of my real life accounts, do I then track inter-account transactions as I would in my checkbook?  In other words, if I xfer funds from one DDA to another DDA in order to pay a bill, do I mark that as a transaction from one account to another even though it doesn't directly impact my budget?

2. When I start my Day 1 budget, I will use the "cash balance" in my account(s) as of that specific date correct?  That is the money I have available to budget as of Day 1.  I don't increase my budget until my next paycheck right?  My wife and I get paid bi-weekly and on the same week as each other so our budget will be updated bi-weekly, while my transactions will be updated when they happen.  Am I understanding things correctly?